Master's Thesis Seminar WS

339.506 Mössenböck, Blaschek, Prähofer Mo 15:30 - 17:00 S3 218 Start: Mo 5.3.2018, 15:30, S3 218

Schedule SS 2018

09.04.Mosaner, Feichtinger
16.04.Niederer, Badic
07.05.Latifi, Pekarek?
11.06.Woisetschläger, Schörghuber
18.06.Mosaner, Ehrenfellner
25.06.Niederer, Feichtinger

How it works

Every candidate gives 3 presentations over 2 semesters:

1. presentation (10 min.): Motivation, overview, preliminary ideas, existing solutions, time schedule
2. presentation (25-30 min.): Progress report, current architecture, first results
3. presentation (25-30 min.): Final results

It is mandatory to attend the Master's thesis seminar even if you do not give a presentation. You are expected to participate in the discussions and to provide feedback to the presenters.

Normally, you need 2 minutes per slide. Avoid slides which consist only of text bullets. Rather, present your ideas, algorithms, architectures, and user interfaces with pictures and examples if possible. Don't forget that there is also a whiteboard that you can use.

Don't waste too much time with a formal introduction and come to the point quickly. Concentrate on the concepts of your work and don't talk too much about details unless necessary. Make the presentation understandable to colleagues who are not specialists in your field. Your goal should be that your colleagues get new insights into your work and can take something home from your talk.

Further information

Current Master students

Sanel Badic, 0955543, sanelbadic at
Reactive Conversion Server
Supervisor: Prof. Prähofer

Vaishali Dhanoa, 1575139, vaishali.dhanoa at
Fork/Join Work-Stealing for Truffle without Sequential Overhead
Supervisor: Dr. Marr, Dr. Bonetta

Lukas Ehrenfellner, 01355743, lukas.ehrenfellner at
A Framework for Teaching Programming with Gamification
Supervisor: Prof. Blaschek

Kevin Feichtinger, 01255105, kevin.feichtinger at
Integration of Feature Modeling and Static Code Analysis in the FORCE Tool Environment
Supervisor: Prof. Prähofer

Josef Haider, 1055777, josef.haider at
An ECMAScript 2015-Compliant Automata-based Regular Expression Engine for Graal.js
Supervisor: DI Rigger, M.Phil.

Jacob Kreindl, 1355133 , k1355133 at
Low-Overhead Debugging Support for an LLVM IR Interpreter
Supervisor: Dr. Grimmer

Florian Latifi, 01355066 , florian.latifi at
Live Queries in the CELUM Reactive Server Platform
Supervisor: Prof. Prähofer

Raphael Mosaner, 01356105 , raphael.mosaner at
On-Stack Replacement for Sulong
Supervisor: DI Rigger

Christian Niederer, 1355042 , chris.niederer at
Pointer Tracing Support for Hotspot's G1 Garbage Collector in AntTracks
Supervisor: Dipl.-Ing. Markus Weninger

Gabriel Schörghuber, 01255521, Gabriel.Schoerghuber at gmx dot at
Implementation of a Register Allocation Verifier for the Graal Compiler
Supervisor: DI Eisl

Dominik Steinbinder, 1256335, d.steinbinder at
Analysis and Visualization of Linux Core Dumps
Supervisor: Prof. Mössenböck

Simon Woisetschläger, 1355741, simon.woisetschlaeger at
Playground Environment for Solving Traveling Salesman Problems
Supervisor: Prof. Blaschek