logo of the SSW institute ;)
Computer Science
System Software

Home

General
Staff
Contact
Partners
Alumni

Research
Areas
Projects
Papers
Books
Reports
Awards

Teaching
Lectures
Exams
B.Projects
M.Theses
PhD Theses
Go Abroad

Misc
Talks
Library
Gallery
Links
Search

Webmaster


Master's Thesis Seminar WS

339.505 Mössenböck, Blaschek, Prähofer Mo 15:30 - 17:00 S3 218 Start: Mo 2.10.2017, 15:30, S3 218

Schedule WS 2017/18

16.10.
23.10.Dhanoa, Steinbinder
30.10.Ehrenfellner, Feichtinger, Haider, Latifi
06.11.Mosaner, Niederer, Schörghuber, Woisetschläger
13.11.Badic, Dhanoa
20.11.
27.11.
04.12.
11.12.Kreindl, Latifi, Steinbinder
08.01.Badic, Haider
15.01.Ehrenfellner, Feichtinger
22.01.Mosaner, Woisetschläger
29.01.Niederer, Schörghuber

How it works

Every candidate gives 3 presentations over 2 semesters:

1. presentation (10 min.): Motivation, overview, preliminary ideas, existing solutions, time schedule
2. presentation (25-30 min.): Progress report, current architecture, first results
3. presentation (25-30 min.): Final results

It is mandatory to attend the Master's thesis seminar even if you do not give a presentation. You are expected to participate in the discussions and to provide feedback to the presenters.

Normally, you need 2 minutes per slide. Avoid slides which consist only of text bullets but present your ideas, algorithms, architectures, and user interfaces with pictures and examples if possible. Don't forget that there is also a whiteboard that you can use.

Don't waste too much time with a formal introduction but come to the point quickly. Concentrate on the concepts of your work and don't talk too much about details unless necessary. Make the presentation understandable to colleagues who are not specialists in your field. Your goal should be that your colleagues get new insights into your work and can take something home from your talk.

Further information

Current Master students

Sanel Badic, 0955543, sanelbadic at gmail.com
Reactive Conversion Server
Supervisor: Prof. Prähofer

Vaishali Dhanoa, 1575139, vaishali.dhanoa at gmail.com
Fork/Join Work-Stealing for Truffle without Sequential Overhead
Supervisor: Dr. Marr, Dr. Bonetta

Lukas Ehrenfellner, 01355743, lukas.ehrenfellner at gmail.com
A Framework for Teaching Programming with Gamification
Supervisor: Prof. Blaschek

Kevin Feichtinger, 01255105, kevin.feichtinger at asak.at
Integration of Feature Modeling and Static Code Analysis in the FORCE Tool Environment
Supervisor: Prof. Prähofer

Josef Haider, 1055777, josef.haider at khg.jku.at
An ECMAScript 2015-Compliant Automata-based Regular Expression Engine for Graal.js
Supervisor: DI Rigger, M.Phil.

Jacob Kreindl, 1355133 , k1355133 at students.jku.at
Low-Overhead Debugging Support for an LLVM IR Interpreter
Supervisor: Dr. Grimmer

Florian Latifi, 01355066 , florian.latifi at jku.at
Live Queries in the CELUM Reactive Server Platform
Supervisor: Prof. Prähofer

Christian Niederer, 1355042 , chris.niederer at outlook.com
Pointer Tracing Support for Hotspot's G1 Garbage Collector in AntTracks
Supervisor: Dipl.-Ing. Markus Weninger

Gabriel Schörghuber, 01255521, Gabriel.Schoerghuber at gmx dot at
Implementation of a Register Allocation Verifier for the Graal Compiler
Supervisor: DI Eisl

Dominik Steinbinder, 1256335, d.steinbinder at gmx.at
Analysis and Visualization of Linux Core Dumps
Supervisor: Prof. Mössenböck

Simon Woisetschläger, 1355741, simon.woisetschlaeger at gmail.com
Playground Environment for Solving Traveling Salesman Problems
Supervisor: Prof. Blaschek