30.10.17 David Leopoldseder won the SPLASH 2017 Student Research Competition in the Graduate category.
13.09.17 Our C# tutorial was ranked among the 15 best C# tutorials on
14.06.17 Both Master Thesis Awards 2017 of the Austrian Computer Society (OCG) went tu JKU! The winners were Andreas Grimmer (CDL MEVSS/Keba/SSW) and Christian Humer (Oracle Labs/SSW)!
08.03.17 The JKU Computer Science Department was ranked 101-150 in the Shanghai Subject Ranking 2017 and 201-250 in the QS World University Subject Ranking (best-ranked department of JKU)
09.12.15 Benoit Daloze won the Ruby Prize 2015 which was presented to him by the Ruby designer Yukihiro Matsumoto at the RubyWorld Conference (see picture).
18.12.14 Hannes Bachmayr won the Adolf Adam Computer Science Award for the best Master's thesis of the year.
02.06.14 Roland Schatz graduated as a PhD "sub auspiciis praesidentis rei publicae". news report and pictures.
20.01.14 FORMAT-Uni-Ranking: Our Master's program "Software Engineering" was ranked 3rd among all Austrian Engineering programs!
19.12.13 Andreas Wöß won the Adolf Adam Computer Science Award for the best Master's thesis of the year.
07.11.13 Thomas Würthinger won the Heinz Zemanek Preis 2012! This was the first time since 2000 that this award was presented to somebody from JKU.
31.05.12 In the Times Higher Education ranking the JKU was ranked 41. among all "young" universities worldwide.
19.04.12   Thomas Würthinger graduated as a PhD "sub auspiciis praesidentis rei publicae". pictures.
2010 The startup company Catalysts founded by Dr. Christoph Steindl (former member of our institute) received the Upper Austrian price for young entrepreneurs (OÖ Jungunternehmerpreis).
2009 Christian Häubl won the Young Scientist Award 2009 of Nordrhein-Westfalen for his Master thesis "Optimized Strings for the Java Hotspot VM".
2008 Christian Wimmer won the Award of Excellence from the Austrian Ministery of Science for his PhD thesis with the title Automatic Object Inlining in a Java Virtual Machine.
2008 Thomas Würthinger won the VDI Award (Verein Deutscher Ingenieure) for his Master's thesis "Visualization of Program Dependence Graphs".
2007 The cooperation between our Christian Doppler Laboratory for Automated Software Engineering and our industrial partner BMD Systemhaus GmbH received the Rudolf-Trauner-Mittelstandspreis (see picture).
2006 Thomas Kotzmann graduated as PhD "sub auspiciis praesidentis rei publicae". pictures
2006 Hanspeter Mössenböck received a honorary doctorate from the Eötvös Lorand University Budapest.